Painted Pumpkins

Believe it or not, I had never painted a pumpkin until this year.  I’ve always carved pumpkins, but never painted them since I like cutting them open for the seeds.  This year, though, I decided to give it a shot.  Since I wanted something to decorate my office, I started with these two little guys.

pumpkins-1

My original plan was to paint one solid black with the word “Boo” on it, and paint the other in fall colors.  I managed the solid black one pretty easily and set it aside to dry before writing on it.  In the meantime, I started painting fall colored stripes on the other pumpkin.  I spent forever doing that, since each color required multiple coats.  When I was done, all I can say for the poor pumpkin is it looked like a pair of bad polyester pants from the 70s.  Not.  Good.

On to Plan B.  I painted over the hideous stripes with black paint and added white polka dots.  Naturally, as soon as I was finished I realized how good orange, purple and green dots would have looked.  But, at that point it was late, I was tired, and I was a bit depressed that my Plan A didn’t work out so well.

pumpkins-2

They’re still kinda cute.  And, as soon as Halloween is over I’ll be cutting them open and toasting the seeds!

2 thoughts on “Painted Pumpkins

Leave a Reply

