Surprise Trip

shepherdstown-1

This past weekend, my hubby surprised me with a trip to Shepherdstown, WV.  I haven’t been so excited for a trip in a good while, and this also happened to fall the weekend of my birthday (Friday).  I love this town.  Love it.  Want to move there.  I have a thing for small, historic towns and this one is perfect.

We had visited 18 years ago, and it was a place we had always said we wanted to visit again, but what really renewed our interest was the show Ghosts of Shepherdstown that was on this summer.  I’m not a paranormal fanatic, but I love a good ghost story, and we usually take a ghost walk in every historic place we visit.  We fell in love with the show and were excited to see that one of the folks from the show–the town historian–offered a “mysteries walk”.  I tried not to get all fan girl, but I did manage to snag a pic with her after the walk.

shepherdstown-3

This is one of my favorite pics from the trip.  I can’t remember the name of the building, but it’s in the center of town next to the town run (as a side note, I had  never heard the term “town run” before.  I’m familiar with creeks and rivers that are basically glorified creeks, but had never heard of a run).

shepherdstown-2

We spent most of the day Friday at the Antietam Battlefield, which is in nearby Sharpsburg, MD.  Travis is a huge Civil War buff, and while I certainly don’t know as much about the war as he does, I have enough of an appreciation of history to enjoy that type of thing as well.  Plus, it’s always fun to see the person you love enjoying something so much.

antietam-1

This is from “Bloody Lane” at the Battlefield.

antietam-2

Two things that I found particularly appealing about Shepherdstown were the popcorn store and the yarn shop.  Anyone who knows me knows I consider popcorn a basic food group.  I can go sit through pretty much any movie out there as long as I have a big bucket of popcorn.  I had never been in a yarn store before, so I was in heaven.  I came out with some Alpaca yarn that is ultra soft.  I can’t wait to use it!

shepherdstown-4

I have to say that was the best birthday ever!  When I returned to work today I told my boss I was ready to move there and he promptly told me I’m not allowed to take any more trips.  Lol!  Whatever!!

3 thoughts on “Surprise Trip

Leave a Reply

