Homemade Dog Treats

I found a recipe for homemade dog treats and decided to give it a try for my dog, Ralph.  I’ve been a little worried that Ralph might be feeling as if he’s not getting quite enough attention since we adopted our cats, Buzz and Woody (you can read about them here), so I decided to make a plate of “cookies”, just for him.

The recipe was simple.  Grind 1 1/2 cups of uncooked oatmeal in the food processor until it’s fine.  In a bowl, mash up 1 large or 2 small bananas, add 1/2 cup of peanut butter, and mix with a mixer until smooth.  Add the ground oatmeal, saving just a little to dust your work surface, and mix until well combined.  I then patted out the dough and used a small bone-shaped cookie cutter to cut them to just the right size.  I baked them at 350 for 15-20 minutes.  They’ll keep in an airtight container for about a week.

dog-treats-1

This made quite a few treats, but of course the number you get will depend on the size of your cookie cutter.

20161020_185840

This is my husband giving Ralph his first taste.

dog-treats-3

He loved them!  This is definitely something I’ll be doing regularly.  Maybe next time I’ll make cheese flavored.

 

Leave a Reply

