Mistletoe Market

mistletoe-market-1

On Friday, a friend and I took the day off and went to the Mistletoe Market in Abingdon, VA.  This is an annual trek for us and thankfully our bosses are very understanding!  The Market is the largest fundraiser of the year for the William King Museum of Art in Abingdon, and features tons of vendors.  Some are local shops, some are handmade craft booths, and all get a good look from us!

I wish I could have gotten a good picture from inside the Market, but with everything being on one level, the only pics I could get were of what was directly in front of me.  I can, however, show you our haul.

mistletoe-market-2

I can’t show you what is in all the bags, since I managed to knock out a few Christmas presents, but I can show you what I bought for myself.

mistletoe-market-3

I love this scarf and the colors will go with so many different things.  The only issue I had was choosing between the infinity scarf shown and the same pattern in a blanket scarf.  I finally decided to go with the infinity scarf.  It’s easy to throw on, and is so soft!

mistletoe-market-4

I also really liked this wrap bracelet.  I think it will look good by itself, and also good stacked with other bracelets.  Look closely–the colored beads are actually paper beads!

mistletoe-market-5

These beads are made by women in Africa to give them a good source of income.  I can’t imagine the patience it must take to make beads so small!  I’ve wanted to try making paper beads for a long time, but have never gotten around to it.  Somehow I think mine will be much larger!

That’s all I bought for myself.  Not too bad!  Believe me, I’ve done much worse in the past.  I had a great time, though, and now I’m starting to think about Christmas.  If only the weather would cooperate.  I think a snow day–or at least some flurries–would really get me in the mood for the holidays!

Leave a Reply

