Countdown to Christmas Sign

countdown-to-christmas-sign-4

When my younger daughter, Katie, was little she loved counting down the days to Christmas.  We have a Santa and a snowman that have numbers you can change to reflect how many days are left, and her “job” was to change the numbers every day.  As she got older, she used an app on her phone to count down the days.  This year I decided to make a sign she (and the rest of us, of course) could use.

This is a really simple and inexpensive project.  You’ll need:

  • A wooden plaque (mine is 9″ x 12″)
  • Chalkboard paint
  • Your choice of paint colors (I used black around the edges, bright red on the front, and white and green for polka dots/lettering)
  • Chalk or a chalk pen

countdown-to-christmas-sign-1

countdown-to-christmas-sign-3

countdown-to-christmas-sign-2

I first taped off a square and filled it in with chalkboard paint.  While that was drying, I pained the edges black.  I let both dry for a few hours.  Then, I peeled the tape off and taped inside the chalkboard paint square so that I could paint the front of the plaque without getting it on the chalkboard part.  After painting the front red and allowing it to dry, I simply decorated with “Countdown to Christmas” lettering and polka dots.  Of course, you could decorate this any way you choose.  Unfortunately I’m not much of an artist, so I like to keep it simple.

This is a project you could use for other events, as well–a countdown to a birthday or vacation, for example.  Counting down the days to a special event always makes it that much more exciting!

countdown-to-christmas-sign-5

Now I just need to decide whether to put a hanger on the back to hang it on the wall, or use a plate stand to display it.

4 thoughts on “Countdown to Christmas Sign

  1. Great idea! It is at least as much about the anticipation as the day itself. I think the child in me would be tempted to cheat and knock a day or two off as I went along!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

