Happy Thanksgiving

peanuts-thanksgiving

Today is Thanksgiving Day in the U.S.  It’s a day to pause and reflect on the things we are thankful for.  Personally, I have way too many to name, but, of course, my family, friends, and church family top the list.  Traditional meals include turkey, dressing (or stuffing–depending on which area of the country you’re from), potatoes and other vegetables, and pumpkin pie.  There’s always a football game on the tv, which makes Travis and Hannah happy (especially this year–the Dallas Cowboys are on).

Like most families, ours has its Thanksgiving traditions.  Last night we watched A Charlie Brown Thanksgiving.  I’m a huge Peanuts cartoon fan, and I’ve always encouraged (okay, maybe forced at times) my kids to watch the Peanuts holiday specials.

Today, we’ll spend the first part of the day with my in-laws, followed by a visit with my family (thankfully our families live in neighboring towns).   By then we’ll be pretty miserable from eating way too much.  But, hey, Thanksgiving comes once a year and calories don’t count on holidays (at least in my little world).  Last night I did my part of the cooking:  deviled “death” eggs (you can read about those here), macaroni salad, and broccoli casserole.

Tomorrow we’ll be out and about doing some Black Friday shopping.  It’s a crazy day, but we just go for the fun of it and not to necessarily buy anything (which tells you Travis and I need more date nights!).  Saturday is decorating day.  I’ll pack away all my fall decorations and make the house look Christmas-y.  It’s a big job, but I love having the house decked out for the holidays

However you spend the day, I hope you have a wonderful Thanksgiving.  For those of you in other countries, I hope you’re inspired to take a few minutes to reflect on all the things we have to be thankful for in our lives.

One thought on “Happy Thanksgiving

Leave a Reply

