Banana Pudding and “Northern” Terms

banana-pudding

It’s the time of year for lots of family gatherings and potlucks.  Whenever possible, I like to bring something quick and simple, so banana pudding is one of my go-to desserts.  In fact, I made some last night for a potluck at work today.  It’s super-simple.  This is the recipe:

  • 8 oz. sour cream
  • 1 (8 oz) container frozen whipped topping, thawed
  • 1 (5 oz) package instant vanilla pudding mix
  • 2 c. milk
  • 1 (16 oz) package vanilla wafer cookies
  • 4 bananas, peeled and sliced

In a large bowl, combine sour cream, whipped topping, pudding mix and milk until well mixed.  In the bottom of a bowl, put a layer of cookies, then a layer of the pudding mixture, then a layer of bananas.  Repeat until all ingredients are used.  (Don’t worry if the pudding mixture hasn’t set yet–it will set up in the fridge).  Refrigerate.

You can’t get much easier than that and it’s always a hit.

I was talking to my boss today (who is originally from Michigan) and a co-worker about the other night’s supper.  Mine consisted of fried potatoes, cornbread, and kraut and weenies.  I don’t know if kraut and weenies is an Appalachian thing or if other people eat it, but my boss put his head in his hands and quickly informed me they’re called hot dogs, not weenies.  I agreed with him, as long as they’re on a bun, but when they’re with kraut, they’re weenies.  He then corrected me and said it’s “sauerkraut”.  Yes, but we shorten that.  Sauerkraut (or sarekraut, as it would likely be pronounced here) and hot dogs doesn’t have the same ring.  Probably wouldn’t taste as good, either.

So what is “kraut and weenies”?  Sliced hot dogs fried in a pan with sauerkraut.  Simple as that.

While we were on a roll with “northern” terms (yes, I tease him about not being from around here), I learned that what we call a toboggan is called a stocking cap in his part of Michigan, and, a toboggan there is what we would call a sled.  Just a little useless trivia for the day!  I personally think it’s interesting to see what things are called in other parts of the country (or world).

Tonight, I think I’ll enjoy a meal of leftover fried potatoes, kraut and weenies, and banana pudding while I settle in for one of the coldest nights of the year so far.

 

Leave a Reply

