Orchard Barn Mug Holder

Mug holder 4

We have a new business in town, Orchard Barn Designs.  Run by Andrea Hicks and Jayne Sluss, they offer repurposed home decor.  The best part?  They offer workshops!

When I saw they were offering a workshop on how to make this adorable mug holder, I knew I had to give it a try.  I’m so glad I did!  Andrea and Jayne had all our materials pulled together and packaged very nicely, waiting on the tables for us.  I wish I had taken a picture, but naturally I tore into the materials too quickly.

Mug holder 1

They walked us through the project step-by-step, explaining everything very clearly.  We even got to use power tools!  (It’s the little things that excite me… )  I used a power saw for the first time and managed to keep all my fingers intact.  I also used a power sander and drill without any mishaps.  It was so much fun that I’m thinking about adding a saw to my Christmas list…

This is my finished project.

Mug holder 2

I just love it!  And, the mug hanging on it was our name card.  We wrote our names on them in Sharpie.  I thought that was so creative!  I’d have never thought of that, even though all my church potluck dishes have my name Sharpied on them.  

Jayne also provided iced coffee, a slow cooker apple spice cake, and scones.  Delicious!  I probably drank a little too much of the coffee, but I figure the caffeine was good for my creativity (or at least my energy level).  

Mug holder 3

If you live in this area, I highly recommend you check out a workshop. I know I’ll be doing more.  If you’re too far away, check them out on Etsy!  

 

 

Leave a Reply

